Timing is everything, unless it isn’t.

Hello all!

So sorry for the absence. In the midst of not a lot of relevant activity and a whole lot of other (wonderful) things, I thought I’d give you an update on the goings-on.I’m out of the big city and in somewhat smaller city for 3 months for work. Although the contract doesn’t start for another week, I know it’s going to be a wonderful time. The thing is though…I, Ruby, am the queen of terrible timing!

***rewind***

Back in December I went to a new friend’s christmas party. I didn’t really know anyone but new friend mentioned that there was one person in particular that I should meet. So I did, we chatted, he was really quite lovely, but I didn’t give it a second thought. I was busy making the mistake of falling for dude-that-went-nowhere. But at the end of the night, when I got home, I saw that he had added me to facebook and we exchanged pleasantries and that was it.

***fast forward***

Mid-February. I run into him twice in the span of a week. The first time, I’m at an event, sitting at a table alone, and he comes over and asks if he can sit down. We talk the night away. He asks if I’m going to our mutual friend’s birthday later that week. I say “Of course“. So we hang out there. With a whole lot of (totally vanilla) “I’m SO not flirting with you even though I TOTALLY am” kind of interaction through the night. When birthday boy drives us home later that night, he insists on walking me to my door, where he kisses me and my heart flutters. We make a plan to spend some time together the next week and that was it.

That totally casual but super sweet date was perfect, and ended in an amazing night of really fun straight up sex and a cuddle-filled sleepover. Not the kind of details you’re all looking for, I know ;) but I had a great time. (funny thing…he said “please tell me if I hurt you at all“, at which I chuckled and said “Trust me, you won’t hurt me“…) Before he left, he asked if he could see me again, even for a few minutes, before I left the city. I said I’d like that a lot, and that it’d be totally doable.

So this past Sunday he came over at 6:30 and it was perfect from the beginning –  me opening the door and scrunching up the carpet so that to door only opened about six inches…That’s me. Completely dorky. He came in, whisked me into his arms and kissed me again, and so began one of those nights where there is so much to discover about each other that the conversation seems effortless and stops only when you come up for air. After the second time we had sex, I thought I’d just lay it out on the line – “So. Is there anything in particular you’re into?” I asked him. Without letting a beat go by, he replied “Clowns in bubblewrap“. I laughed “Really…I would have pegged you for a balloon fetishist“. He laughed heartily before telling me that he didn’t really have anything in particular, but was very enthusiastic about sex :) I took a deep breath and said apologetically (Dan Savage would be so disappointed) “Well, in all honesty, I uh…I’m kind of into BDSM. I’m a submissive.” He looked at me with a grin and said “Reaaally. I’ll admit, I’m not totally up on my terms but that’s cool!” Later in the conversation he told me he was going to do some research and stuff, but what I’m about to say is the reason for this entire post, and the reason that I REALLY hope that he’s still single when I get back to the city. We’d had sex again, and this time he just played a little with pinning my arms down and teasing me with his tongue, which was fun, and so afterwards, he said:

I don’t know about you, but I have a feeling that we could have a whole lot of fun. So I’ll do my research but when you get back, I want you to teach me. I want to learn what makes you tick and what I can do that is specifically YOUR biggest turn-on

…is this guy for real? The thing is, I think he actually is. The guy who had the christmas party has become my best friend, and he’s totally vouching for him. In any case, I hope his “research” doesn’t scare him off. Because I think I could fall quite easily for someone who is so GGG and eager to learn and excited about ME. So, of course, it’s too good to be true. There has to be a catch. The catch being that I’m not going to be back until the 1st of June…hence the “terrible timing” comment. /sigh. I hope he’s still up for it then. Exciting times, although I’m trying not to get my hopes up.

(and you see how well that’s going already :P)

<3 Ruby

~ by subruby on March 4, 2011.

5 Responses to “Timing is everything, unless it isn’t.”

  1. Oh, Ruby. Have faith. There is an amazing man waiting for you. Maybe this is it. Keep communication going with him, and i will keep my fingers crossed for you!!!

  2. “… I want to learn what makes you tick and what I can do that is specifically YOUR biggest turn-on“
    oh yes, I got told that not to long ago… such great words to hear. :)
    Best of luck. Sounds like you had a great time. :)

    • Thanks Sophia, it WAS pretty amazing.
      Keep your fingers crossed that it all works out when I get back.
      So far so good. We’ve been in contact every day since I left. We’ll see!
      He definitely seems like someone I want to explore with :)
      ~Ruby

Leave a comment